Report of 3-day UGC's Master Trainer Programme on Community Based Participatory Research under UBA 2.0 at Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur

20th to 22nd April 2022

A 3-day UGC's Master Trainer Programme on Community Based Participatory Research (CBPR) under UBA 2.0 was inaugurated at Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur on 20th April, 2022. Dr. Rajesh Tandon, the Founder Director, (Participatory Research in Asia) Pria, New Delhi and member of Subject Expert Group UGC's UBA 2.0 for fostering Social Responsibility and Community Engagement, inaugurated the Master Trainer Programme. Dr. Binoy Acharya, Founder Director, UNNATI, Ahmedabad was the guest of honor. Dr. Rajesh Singh, Director, Board of Innovations, Incubation and Linkages, RTMNU, Nagpur, presided over the function. The programme began with Vidyapeeth Geet of RTMNU. Dr Rekha Sharma, Regional Coordinator, Western Region, UBA 2.0 delivered the welcome speech. She introduced Dr Tandon and Dr Vijay Tangde introduced Dr Binoy Acharya. The programme was compered by Dr. Aparna Samudra, Master Trainer of RTMNU and the formal vote of thanks was proposed by Dr. Vijay Tangde, MT RTMNU, Nagpur.

About 32 Master Trainers from Maharashtra, Gujarat and Goa joined this CBPR. From Maharashtra, the Master Trainers were drawn from Nagpur, Amravati, Mumbai, Akola, Wardha, Gadchiroli, Pune, Yavatmal, Latur, Gondia, Lonere, Parbhani and Nanded. From Gujarat the Master Trainers were from Ahmedabad, Karamsad and Bhavnagar.

After the inauguration, Dr. Rajesh Tandon conducted an orientation programme on Community-Based Participation Research methodology. He explained the five units to be studied during 3-day Master Trainer Programme.

These 32 Master Trainers were divided into six different groups and were giver caps of six different colours, each group with one colour. Dr. Tandon briefed the participants with the first unit of CBPR: 'Understanding the local realities of village'. He explained about the transect walk, the MTs have to do during the first visit. Then the team of the first batch went for the transect walk to the Amgaon and Deoli villages of Hingana, which are about 17 kilometers from Nagpur city. This transect walk was a systematic walk across the village together with the local people to

explore the communities residing in village, to explore the water, sanitation, education, living conditions and different aspects of village community.

On 21st April 2022, the Master Trainers shared the experience of this transect walk. Some also shared the map of the village drafted with the help of villagers. From the experiences of this transect walk, Dr. Tandon distributed one institution to each group. The institutions were Buddha Vihar, School, Health Centre, Anganwadi, Panchayat and Self-Help Group.

This was the beginning of the 2nd Unit of CBPR i.e., 'Understanding local Institutions'. Dr. Tandon & Dr. Acharya explained the structure of the second unit i.e., the institution to be studied in detail, their layout, structure, different committees and functions of the institution. Thereafter the MTs went to the same village again to understand the local institutions of the villages. For debriefing, the groups sat together and made presentations of the Institutions, they studied in detail. The subject expert group member and resource person asked the MTs to give presentations of the Institutions in any of the following ways: using audiovisual aids, roleplay or other ways.

In the post lunch session, the team visited Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, met the Honorable Vice Chancellor Dr. Subhash Choudhari and the Registrar Dr. Raju Hiwse. They also paid visit to Gramgeeta Bhavan & Incubation Centre of RTMNU, Nagpur. Dr. Guruprasad Pakhmode, Head of the Department of Tukadoji Maharaj Studies, informed the team about the teachings of Tukadoji Maharaj. He also presented Gramgeeta to Dr. Tandon and Dr. Acharya. Dr. Abhay Deshmukh, Director of Incubation Centre, RTMNU, gave a presentation on working of Incubation Centre, "Incubin" at Multifacility Computer Centre, RTMNU. The team then paid visit to Incubation Centre, RTMNU. Finally, they visited Zeromile stone of India at Nagpur.

On 22nd April, 2022, the first session began with a prayer on "*Itni Shakti Hame Dena Daata*". The unit 3 & 4 of CBPR i.e., Practical understanding of a selected issue through a small group field project (3 – 4 students each) was conducted. The participants were asked to discuss 'Learning from field visits' and 'Learning from presentations of other groups'. One by one, all six groups gave presentation on Unit 3 and 4. Though the presentations were given in front of the MTs, but role of their viewers were changed according to the institution presented.

Dr. Acharya explained the concept of institutional mapping based on their importance and accessibility through Chapati Design. The concept of Structured Framework was also explained. In the post lunch session, Dr Tandon took a brief review of the implementation strategy of CBPR Programme from the Master Trainers.

Dr Ujjwala Chakradeo, Vice Chancellor of SNDT Women's University, Mumbai, was the Chief Guest of Valedictory Function, Dr Smita Acharya, Director, Internal Quality Assurance Cell, RTMNU, was the president of the function. Dr Rajesh Tandon and Dr Binoy Acharya were the Guests of Honor. Dr Rekha Sharma readout the report of three-day Master Trainers' programme and also introduced Hon'ble Vice Chancellor Dr Ujjwala Chakradeo. Dr Vijay Tangde introduced Dr Smita Acharya. Dr. Bhanumati Pilli from Goa, Dr. Sagar Sadanand Gokhale from Mumbai, Dr Lokesh Jain from Gandhinagar, Gujarat and Prof. Dr K.T.V. Reddy from Wardha, Maharashtra, expressed their views on the three-day CBPR programme. Dr Rajesh Tandon presented the mementos of 40th Anniversary of PRIA organization to Dr Chakradeo and Dr Rekha Sharma. The valedictory programme was compered by Dr. Aparna Samudra, Master Trainer of RTMNU and the formal vote of thanks was proposed by Dr. Vijay Tangde, MT RTMNU, Nagpur. The programme ended with National Anthem.



From left to right: Dr Binoy Acharya, Dr Rajesh Singh, Dr Rajesh Tandon and Dr Rekha Sharma during inauguration function.



From left to right: Dr Rekha Sharma, Dr Binoy Acharya, Dr Rajesh Tandon, Dr Ujjwala Chakradeo and Dr Smita Chakradeo during valedictory function.



Participants of the First Batch of Master Trainers of CBPR, RTMNU, Nagpur

Day 1: https://youtu.be/dsOLzoqKB4U
Day 2: https://youtu.be/L82uYvoCy2o
Day 3: https://youtu.be/L82uYvoCy2o